EIRCC successfully held in Caorle with participation of young, highly motivated referees


Article Tue, Dec 21 2021

The European Refereeing Commission (ERC) continues to work hard to grow the next generation of Volleyball referees – with the European International Referee Candidates Course (EIRCC) held in Caorle from December 12 to 20 the latest milestone in these efforts.

A group picture with all the people involved in the EIRCC held in Caorle, Italy

ERC President Zorica Bjelic, ERC member Jarmo Salonen and Mr Sandy Steel, a member of the FIVB Rules of the Game and Refereeing Commission, were in charge of running the course attended by as many as 26 young referees from 23 countries.

“This group was much younger than the referees we worked with at the last such course organised two years ago in Ankara. I was extremely happy to see that these young referees were all very motivated and committed. They showed great potential and we can be confident that they will bring much energy and enthusiasm to our European Volleyball family once they achieve the full status of international referees.”

Zorica Bjelic
ERC President

The course included theoretical classes as well as practical ones – with the candidate referees officiating at matches scheduled for the final stage of the men’s Veneto Cup – a competition run by FIPAV Veneto featuring eight teams. The CEV and local organisers provided a safe environment for all involved, with all necessary COVID-19 mitigation measures in place in compliance with the relevant protocols adopted by Italian and international health authorities.

The Vice-President of the Italian Volleyball Federation (FIPAV), Mr Adriano Bilato, extended warmest greetings and wishes to all candidates on behalf of the organisers of the course.

After passing their theoretical and practical examinations on site in Caorle, the 26 referees involved in this year’s EIRCC now have three years to achieve the full status of international referees.  

The list of attendees in Caorle includes the following 26 candidates:

Enri Zenullari (Albania)

Milena Keser (Austria)

Robin Schoenmakers (Belgium)

Tin Vedris (Croatia)

Dimitris Koukounis (Cyprus)

Niklas Kjaer Thomsen (Denmark)

Marko Oravainen (Finland)

Mathilde Hayaux du Thilly, Sébastien Jacob (France)

Mikheil Guniava (Georgia)

Lars Wuhnow (Germany)

Cesare Armandola, Michele Brunelli, Serena Salvati (Italy)

Istref Elezaj (Kosovo)

Rolands Pisevs (Latvia)

Jelena Mitrovic (Montenegro)

Mark Jan Wijnstra (Netherlands)

Thomas André Transeth (Norway)

Wojciech Glod (Poland)

Andrei Savu (Romania)

Marko Rozej (Slovenia)

Zoran Radovanovic (Serbia)

Diana Rico Sanchez (Spain)

Fedor Tirsel (Slovakia)

Helena Persson (Sweden)