Madelein Meppelink elected as FIVB Athletes’ Commission President


Article Tue, May 4 2021

The FIVB today announced the results of the first-ever FIVB Athletes’ Commission presidential elections with Dutch beach volleyball player, Madelein Meppelink, being chosen by members to lead the  Commission for the next four years.

Two-time European champion Madelein Meppelink is the newly-elected President of the FIVB Athletes' Commission

“I am honoured and humbled to be elected by my fellow colleagues at the FIVB Athletes’ Commission. I look forward to another productive term of the Commission that, after just one term, has proven its ability to best represent the voices of our fellow athletes. The work of the Commission has also been further strengthened with the introduction of elections, and we are excited for the future of the Commission and our incredible sport.”

Madelein Meppelink
FIVB Athletes’ Commission President

Meppelink, a two-time Olympian (London 2012, Rio de Janeiro 2016), two-time European Champion (2014, 2018), former world number one ranked beach volleyball player (2013) and a Corrientes Grand Slam winner (2013), received a majority of votes cast. The elections were conducted through a secure Lumi voting platform with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) acting as scrutineers.

For the first time ever – and in accordance with the regulatory change approved by the 37th FIVB World Congress granting the FIVB President the power to appoint an athlete to the FIVB Board of Administration – the President of the Commission will be a member of the FIVB Board of Administration. Before joining the FIVB Board of Administration, a thorough integrity check, which is a requirement for all candidates to the FIVB Board Administration, was conducted on Meppelink to ensure the highest standards of good governance.

Meanwhile, Gilberto “Giba” Amauri de Godoy Filho, three-time Olympic medallist (including a gold medal at the Olympic Games Athens 2004) and three-time World Champion, was accordingly selected as Secretary of the Commission. Giba served as Athletes’ Commission President from 2016-2020 and is widely regarded as one of the sport’s greatest ever players.

FIVB President Dr Ary S. Graça F° said: “I am delighted that the historic and first-ever FIVB Athletes’ Commission elections were such a success and my congratulations go to Madelein Meppelink on her election. The process was both democratic and transparent, and aligned with the latest best practices in good governance - which the FIVB is fully committed to implementing. Together, we have further empowered the Commission and its ability to represent our incredible athletes.”  

For the 2021-2024 period, the Athletes’ Commission is composed of five elected and five appointed members who act as an essential link between the players and the FIVB to ensure that the players’ interests are represented. Additionally, the Commission has equal gender representation amongst its membership, and the same number of representatives from Volleyball and Beach Volleyball.

For the full composition of the commission, please click here.